Language:

澳大利亚的黄金生产

澳大利亚 - 世界第2大黄金生产国

可能没有多少人意识到,在超过一个半世纪的时间里,在澳大利亚黄金一直是主导商品,直到今天,澳大利亚是世界第二大的黄金生产国,大部分主要产自西澳大利亚州和昆士兰州。黄金最早于19世纪20年代在澳大利亚被发现 - 发现黄金的最早记载是在1823年,新南威尔士州。在1851年,随着1788年第一批欧洲移民至澳洲后,最早的几个淘金运动开始了,吸引着世界各地的许多人蜂拥至澳大利亚。因此,在10年内,澳大利亚的人口翻了三番 - 超过了100万。

继2007年从南非手中抢过头把交椅后,2010年中国仍为世界第一大黄金生产国。南非曾在近100年的时间里黄金产量一直高居世界第一,而澳大利亚为第二大黄金生产国。世界第3和第4生产商,现分别为美国和南非。

在澳大利亚发现的金矿 - 爱德华•哈格瑞福是谁?

“国内有很多的黄金,我要去那里,正如在加州一样,最仁慈的陛下,皇后,愿上帝保佑她,将委任我为她的一名黄金委员。” - 爱德华•哈格瑞福

爱德华•哈格瑞福是掀起了澳大利亚的淘金热的人。作为自封的小组领导者,哈格瑞福于1850年抵达加利福尼亚,学到了通过淘盘法、淘金槽和挖掘法勘探黄金的工艺。更重要的是,他在加利福尼亚州的地形与他的家乡澳大利亚的地形中发现了相似之处。在加利福尼亚州失败后,他返回澳大利亚,决定去寻找黄金。

“然而,所有人都嘲笑我,认为我的想法和看法和[那些]疯子一样”他写道。

但无论如何,他出发了。

经过长途跋涉,他越过蓝山——一片崎岖而人烟稀少的土地,到处都是绵羊养殖场和小城镇,哈格瑞福下山来到巴瑟斯特平原,他相信那里存在着黄金。之后他抵达Gynong,在这里遇见了约翰•李斯特,一个已经在该地区发现了金矿的人,然后跟着他去了发现金矿的地方。

“我的记忆是不会骗我的。这里黄金的形成无疑与美国加州有相似性。我觉得自己被黄金包围了。”

哈格瑞福把李斯特和詹姆斯和威廉•汤姆安排成一组工作,教会了他们他在加利福尼亚州所学的采矿方法。这个小团队从夏山小河区出土了价值13英磅的黄金。

哈格瑞福想弄清楚这个区域的位置,但他聪明地知道,无论如何他会得到回报。经过长时间的劝说,殖民大臣派出一名英国地质学家研究该领域,并随后给了哈格瑞福500英镑作为奖励。

在地质学家作出正式声明之前,哈格瑞福跟很多人透露了该发现。《悉尼先驱晨报》发表了该故事,并迅速传播。哈格瑞福能够找到足量的黄金来获得地质学家Samuel Sutchbury的批准。 Sutchbury“在他到达现场三小时内发现了颗粒状的黄金,并在几天之内,他变得非常看好这片金矿的潜力”。

1851年5月22日,政府宣布发现了金矿。勘探队取消了前往加州的计划。文员、工人和公务员没有去工作,因为成千上百的人都赶到西边刚命名的“俄斐”黄金领域。第一个澳大利亚淘金热开始了。

正如他曾说的那样,哈格瑞福被任命为金矿区的荣誉委员,又收获了10000英镑。哈格瑞福从没有与李斯特或汤姆兄弟分享过他的财富,尽管他们曾抗议过(这导致了一个漫长的法庭审理过程,而哈格瑞福最终胜诉)。他也急忙采取了一定的措施,压制了他原来的财务公开,以确保不会再出现和他的财富相关的控诉。

哈格瑞福带着他的发现成果赶到悉尼,他去见了殖民大臣。

“如果这是黄金之国,”殖民大臣说道,“这是对我们像一个炸雷,我们几乎没有准备好去相信这个事实。”

大规模的移民涌至澳大利亚

发现黄金的消息迅速蔓延。来自美国加州、中国和世界各地的人蜂拥而来,成群结队地在抵达澳大利亚港口。英国移民人数是最多,这是因为淘金热正盛行,更多的英国人涌向遥远的澳大利亚而不是加拿大。

原作为农民和囚犯劳工的殖民地的澳大利亚,很快就超出帝国的期望。被精英视为恶毒、颠三倒四处境的农民变得富有,颠覆了英国社会的阶级系统。对于许多人来说,离开家乡追求财富是冒险的,但这也是他们摆脱下层阶级身份的唯一机会。

“挖金象买彩票。在金矿区,教育、成长环境和阶级毫无意义。劳动者和他从前的主人有同样可能获得财富的机会。事实上,由于挖矿需要连续回破的体力劳动,劳动者比他“更好的”主人有优势。对一些人来讲,这种情况似乎像一个社会上自然秩序的倒置。”

1852年维多利亚时期是淘金热的高峰期,估计有10万人抵达澳大利亚,其中许多人是中国人。从淘金小镇巴拉瑞特和本迪戈的有些建筑上,仍能看出当时中国的影响力。

说到雷声...

查特斯堡,一个他们称作“世界”的小镇,孕育了雷声和闪电。休•莫斯曼、乔治•克拉克、詹姆斯•弗雷泽和一个12岁的原住民男仆朱庇特已在现在被称为查特斯堡小镇的南方进行了勘探。当时由于雷的轰鸣,他们的马匹四处跑散。在第二天早上他们找马的时候,他们发现了黄金。发现地点是彩虹路和黑杰克道,莫斯曼街的现代路口,时间是在1871年底或1872年年初。他们回到拉文斯伍德登记他们的发现,将此处命名为查特斯堡。查特 - 是指W.S.E.M. 查特,黄金委员 - 来自开普省的大男人(传说查特有6’6”高,体重约20英石)。斯堡 - 因为在该发现附近为一圆锥形山丘。

紧接着,一批寻找“财富的人”很快随之而来,在格拉德斯通河的水道上形成了一个名为Millchester的殖民地。到1872年底,人口从零增长到3000人!冲积层的采矿工早就离开了该矿区,移到了帕尔默河发现的金矿,但坚硬岩石的采矿工依然还在,在地下深深的矿脉寻找黄金。一公里之遥的查特斯堡,而不是Millchester,很快成为了主要的殖民地。

世界之巅

在1899年前该金矿的黄金产量达到了顶峰。在1872年至1899年期间,这个地方从一个只有落后建筑的小镇发展成为一个繁荣的城市,约有2,5000名居民。这个城市在那个时候,就已经建好了井然有序的街道,一些漂亮的房屋和许多宏伟的公共建筑矗立在两条主要街道两旁。水从北部大约9英里的伯德金河堰上泵入,充足的水量可供家用和其他用途。井下电力还供给部分主城区。

从字面上,在生产的顶峰,该区域总共打了数百口竖井,并提出的矿石通过许多大型处理厂。在整个前40年,超过130个煤矿产生了历史性的200吨黄金 - 仅凭锄和铲。因为矿工没有竖井通风的技术,因此矿井很少达到700多米的垂直深度。为了不窒息而死,工人停止了作业 - 而黄金从来没有枯竭!此外,虽然生产停下来,查特斯堡金矿在1917年仍然是澳大利亚的第五大黄金生产地,并在所有主要的黄金矿区中拥有最富有的金矿石品位。

在这个区域所有的宗教都得到强烈的体现。在1890年,矿工可以在该区域不低于65家的注册旅馆休息补充水分。体育、音乐和艺术都应有尽有。所说,在查特斯堡你可以找到你想要的一切。因此,没有任何理由再去其他地方旅行。这是为什么这个城镇被亲切地称为“世界”的原因。

参考书籍

Geoff Hocking, To the diggings!: a celebration of the 150th anniversary of the discovery of gold in Australia, Lothian Books, 2000.

Douglas, Fetherling, The gold crusades: a social history of goldrushes, 1849-1929, University of Toronto Press, 1997.

Edward Hargraves, Australia and its goldfields, H. Ingram, 1855.

Marion Place, Gold Down Under, The Story of the Australian Goldrush, Crowell-Collier Press, 1969.

Michael Evans, ‘Gold Fever: Life on the Diggings’, Gold 150, Celebrating 150 Years of Australian Gold-Rush History

John Sherer, The Gold-finder of Australia: how he went, how he fared, how he made his fortune, Clarke, Beeton, 1853

 
 
(2012年12月更新)

Language:

Australian Gold Production

Australia – Top 2 World Gold Producer

Not many people may realise that gold has been a dominant commodity in Australia for over a century and a half and, to this day, Australia is the world top 2 producer of gold, with large quantities deriving predominantly from Western Australia and Queensland. Gold was found in Australia as early as the 1820s - the earliest recorded sighting of gold was in NSW in 1823. In 1851, following the first European settlement of Australia in 1788, the first of several gold rushes began, enticing people to Australia from many parts of the world. As a result, within 10 years Australia's population trebled - to more than 1 million.

In 2014 the World No 1 gold producer country remained China after pushing out South Africa From the top spot in 2007. South Africa had dominated word gold production for nearly 100 years Australia is the number 2 gold producer. The 3rd and 4th world producers are now Rusia and USA respectively. 

Gold Discovery in Australia - Who’s Edward Hargraves?

" There is as much gold in the country I’m going to as there is in California, and Her Most Gracious Majesty, the Queen, God bless her, will appoint me one of her Gold Commissioners". - Edward Hargraves

Edward Hargraves was the man who would set off the first Australian gold rush. As self-appointed leader of a small group which travelled to California in 1850, Hargraves learned the craft of prospecting for gold with pans, cradles and excavation. More importantly he noticed similarities in the Californian terrain with that of his Australian home. Unsuccessful in California, he returned to Australia, determined to discover gold.

" One and all, however, derided me, and treated my views and opinions [as those] of a madman," he wrote.

But he went forth regardless.

After a long journey through the Blue Mountains, a rugged, sparsely-populated land occupied by sheep farms and small towns, Hargraves descended to the Bathurst plains, where he believed the gold field existed. After arriving in Gynong, Hargraves met John Lister, a man who had already found gold in the region, and followed him to where it was found.

" My recollection of it had not deceived me. The resemblance of its formations to that of California could not be doubted or mistaken. I felt myself surrounded by gold."

Hargraves put a party of Lister and brothers James and William Tom to work, teaching them mining methods he had learned in California. The small party excavated £13 worth of gold from the Summerhill Creek area.

Hargraves was willing to reveal the location of the field, but he cleverly ensured he would be rewarded regardless. After a lengthy persuasion, the Colonial Secretary sent a British geologist to examine the field, and subsequently dealt a £500 reward to Hargraves.

Before the geologist had made an official statement, Hargraves told many people of the finds. The Sydney Morning Herald published the story and word quickly spread. Hargraves was able to find enough gold to warrant the approval of the geologist, Samuel Sutchbury. Sutchbury "found granular gold within three hours of his arrival at the site, and within a few days he was downright optimistic about the size of the potential goldfield".

The government declared a gold discovery on May 22, 1851. Prospectors cancelled their trips to California. Clerks, labourers and servants failed to appear for work as thousands rushed west for the newly named "Ophir" gold field. The first Australian gold rush was on.

Just as he had prophesised, Hargraves was appointed Crown Commissioner of the Goldfields, reaping a further £10,000. Hargraves never shared his wealth with Lister or the Tom brothers, despite their protests (which were dragged into a lengthy court case, which Hargraves won). He also made a hasty effort to silence his original financier, ensuring no claims would be made on his wealth.

When Hargraves rushed to Sydney with the finds he went to the Colonial Secretary.

" If this is gold country," said the Colonial Secretary, "it comes on us like a clap of thunder, and we are scarcely prepared to credit it."

Mass Migration to Australia

Word that gold had been found spread quickly. People joined the rush from California, China and across the globe, arriving in droves at Australian ports. British migrants were the most numerous: as gold fever mounted, more Englishmen flocked to distant Australia than to Canada.

Australia, set up as a colony of peasant farmers and convict labourers, soon developed beyond the expectations of the empire. In what was viewed as a diabolical, topsy-turvy situation by the elite, peasants struck it rich and subverted the class systems of British society. For many it was a risk to leave home in the hope of striking it rich, but it was also the only chance they would ever have of breaking out of the under-class.

" Gold digging was a lottery. On the goldfields, education, upbringing and class meant nothing. A labourer was just as likely to strike it rich as his erstwhile master. Indeed, because of the necessity for continuous back-breaking work on the diggings, the labourer may have an advantage over his 'betters'. To some the situation seemed like an inversion of the natural order of society."

In 1852 Victoria was in the peak of the gold rush and an estimated 100,000 people arrived in Australia, many of whom were Chinese. The Chinese influence on the gold rush towns of Ballarat and Bendigo is still seen in some of the architecture.

Speaking of Thunderclaps…

Charters Towers, the town they call 'The World' was born to the sound of thunder and flashes of lightning. Hugh Mosman, George Clarke, James Fraser and a twelve-year-old aboriginal ‘horseboy’ Jupiter had been prospecting away to the south of what is now Charters Towers when their horses scattered during a fierce thunderstorm. It was while searching for the horses next morning that the first Towers gold was discovered. The discovery point was just near the modern day intersection of Mosman Street, Rainbow Road and Black Jack Road and was at the end of the year 1871 or the very beginning of 1872. The party returned to Ravenswood to register their find which they named Charters Towers. Charters - for W.S.E.M. Charters, the Gold Commissioner - the big man from the Cape (Charters was said to be about 6'6" tall and weighed some 20 stone). Towers - because of the conical shaped hills in the vicinity of the discovery.

A rush of ‘fortune seeking men’ quickly followed and a small settlement named Millchester formed on the watercourse at Gladstone Creek. By the end of 1872 the population grew from zero to 3,000 people! The alluvial men left the field early and moved on for the Palmer River discoveries but the hard rock miners remained, seeking the gold in the deep veins underground. A kilometre away, Charters Towers, rather than Millchester, soon became the main settlement.

On Top of the World

The goldfield reached its peak of gold production until 1899. During the period 1872-1899 the place changed from a rough settlement with bark and calico buildings to a thriving city of some 25,000 inhabitants. The city, by that time, had properly formed streets, some wonderful houses and many grand public buildings lining the two main streets. A plentiful supply of water for domestic and other purposes was pumped to the town from a Weir on the Burdekin River about 9 miles to the north. Underground electricity was also supplied to parts of the main town area.

Literally 100s of shafts were sunk during the hey-day of the field and the ore raised was processed through many large Treatment Batteries. Throughout the first 40 years over 130 individual mines produced an historic 200 tonnes of gold – virtually by pick and shovel. As the miners did not have the technology to ventilate their shafts, the mines seldom reached a vertical depth of more than 700 metres. Rather than suffocate, the workmen ceased operations – the gold never ran out! And although production came to a halt in 1917, to this day the Charters Towers goldfield remains Australia’s fifth-largest gold producer and the richest gold ore grades of all the major gold fields.

All religions were strongly represented on the field and in 1890 the miners could quench their thirst in no less than 65 hotels registered on the field. Sports, music and the arts all had fantastic followings. It is said that everything you might desire could be had in the Towers. There was no reason to travel elsewhere for anything. This is why the town became known affectionately as ‘The World’.

Some References

Geoff Hocking, To the diggings!: a celebration of the 150th anniversary of the discovery of gold in Australia, Lothian Books, 2000.

Douglas, Fetherling, The gold crusades: a social history of goldrushes, 1849-1929, University of Toronto Press, 1997.

Edward Hargraves, Australia and its goldfields, H. Ingram, 1855.

Marion Place, Gold Down Under, The Story of the Australian Goldrush, Crowell-Collier Press, 1969.

Michael Evans, ‘Gold Fever: Life on the Diggings’, Gold 150, Celebrating 150 Years of Australian Gold-Rush History

John Sherer, The Gold-finder of Australia: how he went, how he fared, how he made his fortune, Clarke, Beeton, 1853

 
 
(Updated August 2016)