Language:

黄金就是货币

美和装饰

本节将使您了解这种珍贵的黄色金属通常被人们忽略的历史和文化发展,这样做可以让它更加光芒四射,几个世纪以来全球有都倾心于它的业主,它变成了最受公众的追捧和具有很高价值的财产。我们进行了一些背景调查,从世界黄金协会、国际黄金商人ATS金银业有限公司和国家矿业协会获得了宝贵的资源,将您带到黄金的历史和事实的背景的前沿。

作为一个罕见的金属物质,其融点为惊人的1064度摄氏,沸点为2808度摄氏度。金的化学符号,是一个缩写版的单词“奥罗”,拉丁语的意思是“发光黎明“,这并不是巧合。

最早源于黄色的欧洲意义 - 其最突出的特点是它是世界上唯一的颜色是黄色的金属 - “金”来自于那句“仡佬”,正如在古英语中的用法。虽然它的意义来自欧洲语言,黄金本身所拥有的更广泛的历史可以追溯到4000BC。也就是说,作为一个多用途且用途广泛的金属,黄金不但在几千年来在世界各地被开采,更重要的是,它成为许多古老的文明的主要的文化项目。例如,根据国家矿业协会,东欧地区把黄金作为一种时尚的装饰,用引人注目的事物搭配明亮的黄色金属进行展示。

作为一个价值高和持久性强的物质,早在公元前3000年,这种贵重金属就经常由古老的文化和文明制作成复杂的首饰和设计,如伊拉克南部的苏美尔文明、埃及人、和其他人,成为我们复杂和多样化的珠宝风格的基础。

在古埃及- 精致和豪华品味的文化成为了其定义特性的一部分- 从约2500BC起,黄金被视为社会地位和声望的代名词,并作为对王朝的成员的皇家奖励。作为主权的象征,黄金珠宝被埋在埃及的国王和王后的坟墓里,包括埃及第一王朝,Djer国王的坟墓之中就埋有黄金。黄金珠宝制造,最早出现在公元前3000年,直到一千年以后1200BC - 当埃及人把黄金与其他金属进行合金、试验并完善其颜色的变化、纹理和坚定性 - 艺术的首饰制造开始变得更复杂。而且,在这段时间内,埃及人通过失蜡法铸造的黄金成为珠宝首饰生产的技术,今天世界各地仍然在采用。

黄金是货币

随着它的踪迹,在整个早期的历史中,作为一个杰出的对象,出现了黄金作为世界标准的国际交易货币,更具体地说,谢克尔发展中很明显的一点,中东地区的标准测量工具,一个硬币含有11.3克的黄金,或约有三分之一的银三分之二的黄金。不过,这预示着金属的一个新用途,而560BC见证了世界上第一个纯金币的硬币在小亚细亚王国铸造诞生(后为人们熟知的莉迪亚,是土耳其的一部分)。

此外,其含金丰富的地区,特别是在古埃及的努比亚地区很快成为世界上最富有的国家之一。正是这一点 - 作为一个测量和全球贸易的单位, - 它一度成为最强大的自然存在的元素,并成为了其变为其文化发展的巅峰点的最早起点。

为了确定其纯度,在我们当今时代,黄金通常使用高度发达的技术工艺和设备进行检测,然而,此方法最初是如何起源的?根据国家矿业协会提供的内容,1350BC巴比伦人最初使用的基本工具,如用火检测黄金的纯度,正是这是这种技术,后来形成并巩固我们的现代制度的基础。

202BC,当最早的死海古卷创建时,罗马人在西班牙做了他们的标记,因此,通过早期的硬岩采矿技术和流砾石,在最赚钱的黄金开采地区获得和回收的黄金。

工业中的黄金

在当今时代,黄金有成千上万的各种新颖的利用方法,其中最重要的包括在工业和商业用途的工具性用途。

无论是在军事或民用生活中,黄金在科技进步中继续发挥重要作用。在1970年,电荷耦合器件的发明引入了金属的新用途。该设备最初用于检测从恒星中发出的光,它使用黄金来收集光生电子,现在使用的家用摄像机和其他类似设备都有该设备。例如,在1960年发明的激光是AT&T贝尔实验室(Bell Laboratories)的专利。它以镀金的镜子的使用方式,使其用户加强红外线到激光晶体的反射,因此我们就来了解自己与今天的现代技术的发展。

但是,也许在当今时代,其最根本的作用是它在太空和航空科学的应用。世界领先的太空科学机构,美国国家航空和航天局(NASA)在许多仪器操作中使用了黄金,特别是镀金的遮阳板,可以保护宇航员的眼睛,避免阳光直射。爱德华怀特上校早在上世纪60年代的太空竞赛中进行了首次太空行走,当时他佩戴了黄金面罩,黄金遮阳板今天仍然对航天员有标准的保护功能。此外,在20世纪80年代初,当航天飞机推出时,镀金的叶轮被采用为液态氢燃料泵的组成部分。之后在1996年,黄金已经在众多的太空探险中被采用,如发射的火星环球探测者。板载镀金望远镜具有绘制详细的火星表面图的独特能力,再加上大型镀金的镜子,可捕捉最详细的天王星和海王星的图像,金属已开创了今天以及未来的技术突破。

尽管有记录,但在当今时代,世界各地可能已开采超过150,000吨的黄金,它仍然是世界上最珍贵的金属。据估计,在世界上所有的黄金被提炼后,能形成一个侧面 长20米(66英尺)的立方体- 长20m×宽20米x高20米。在历史上,黄金作为世界许多地区的古老的货币以及交易的单位、财富和阶级的指示灯,几个世纪以来,黄金无疑已经一直是,且在今天的世界仍然是一种罕见的、有价值的商品。

虽然黄金资源的日益稀缺,加上全球黄金产量水平下降,这种明亮的金属仍无疑将继续为全球的热门选择。

(2012年12月更新)

Language:

Gold is Money

Beauty and Adornment

This section takes you into the often overlooked historical and cultural development of the precious yellow metal and, in doing so, sheds some light on this single item that for centuries worldwide has both enamoured its owners and become one of the public’s most sought after and highly valued possessions. We did some background research, and came across valuable resources from the World Gold Council, the international bullion merchants ATS Bullion Ltd and the National Mining Association, to bring the historical and factual context of gold to the forefront.

As a rare metallic substance with the ability to melt at a staggering 1064 degrees centigrade and to boil at 2808 degrees centigrade, it’s no coincidence that the chemical symbol of gold, Au, is an abbreviated version of the word ‘Aurum’, meaning ‘glowing dawn’ according to Latin terminology.

Originally hailing from the European meaning of yellow - its most prominent characteristic and the only metal in the world that is yellow in colour - the word ‘gold’ comes from the phrase ‘gelo’, as used in the old English language. Although its meaning derives from European language, gold itself has a more extensive history dating back to 4000BC. That is, as a multi-purpose and highly versatile metal, gold has not only been mined throughout the world for many thousands of years but has, more significantly, become the staple cultural item of many ancient civilisations. For example, according to the National Mining Association, an ancient culture from the now Eastern European region utilised gold as a fashion item through decorating, adorning, and displaying highly coveted objects with the bright yellow metal.

Being a highly valued and durable substance, since as early as 3000BC the precious metal was often crafted into complex jewellery arrangements and designs by ancient cultures and civilisations such as the Sumer civilisation of southern Iraq, the Egyptians, and others, and essentially became the basis from which we model our sophisticated and diverse jewellery styles today.

In ancient Egypt - a culture whose often elaborate and ostentatious tastes became part of its then defining characteristics - from approximately 2500BC gold was considered as synonymous with social status and prestige, and as a regal bestowment to members of the royal dynasty. As a token of sovereignty, gold jewellery was decidedly buried in and amongst the tombs of Egyptian kings and queens, including the king of the first Egyptian dynasty, Djer. While gold jewellery was manufactured as early as 3000BC, it wasn’t until a thousand years later in 1200BC - when the Egyptians developed and honed the practice of alloying gold with other metals, experimenting and perfecting its colour variations, texture and firmness - that the art of jewellery-making began to grow more elaborate and complex. And, during this time also, the Egyptians’ technique of casting gold via the lost-wax method became instrumental in jewellery production, a process that is still practiced around the world today.

Gold is Money

Following its tracings as an eminent object throughout early history, gold emerged as the world’s standard international currency of exchange, and more specifically as the Middle East’s standard measuring device as evident in development of The Shekel, a coin containing 11.3 grams of gold or approximately two-thirds gold with one-third silver. However, while this heralded in a new purpose for the metal, the advent of 560BC saw the introduction of the world’s first pure gold coins as minted in a kingdom of Asia Minor known then as Lydia, part of Turkey.

Additionally, with its abundance of gold-bearing areas, particularly in the regions of Nubia, ancient Egypt soon became one of the world’s wealthiest nations. It was at this point - as a unit of measuring and conducting trade worldwide – that it at once became the single most powerful naturally occurring element, and reached the earliest beginnings of what was to become the pinnacle point of its cultural evolution.

In order to determine its level of purity, in our modern era gold is commonly assayed using highly technical processes and equipment, however when and how did this method first originate? According to the National Mining Association, in 1350BC the Babylonians originally utilised basic tools such as fire to assay the purity of gold, and it was this technique that both formed and underpinned the foundations of our modern system.

In 202BC, during a period when the earliest Dead Sea Scrolls were created, the Romans had made their mark on Spain and consequently, through early hardrock mining techniques and stream gravels, gained access to and recovered gold from its most lucrative gold mining regions.

Gold in Industry

In contemporary times, gold is utilised in many thousands of varied and innovative ways, not the least of which includes its instrumental uses in industry and business.

Whether it’s in military or civilian life, gold has continued to play a major role in the advancement of technology. In 1970, the invention of the charge-coupled device introduced a new use for the metal. The device, initially used to detect light generated from the stars, uses gold as a way to collect light-generated electrons, and is now used in home video cameras and other similar devices. For example, in 1960 the invention of the laser became patented to AT&T Bell Laboratories. Its use, in the form of gold-coated mirrors, enabled its users to enhance infrared reflections into lasing crystal, and was thus central to the development of modern technologies we have come to familiarise ourselves with today.

But perhaps its most fundamental role in the modern era is its application to space and aeronautical science. The world’s leading space science institution, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration’s (NASA) has instrumentally used gold in its many operations, notably as a gold-coated visor to protect astronauts’ eyes from direct sunlight. While Col. Edward White made the first space walk with a gold visor back in the ‘60s space race, gold sun visors still remain a standard protective feature for astronauts today. Moreover, in the early 1980s, a period when the space shuttle was launched, gold -plated impellers were used to form part of the liquid hydrogen fuel pump. As late as 1996 gold has been adopted for numerous space expeditions, such as the launch of the Mars Global Surveyor. In the form of an onboard gold-coated telescope-mirror with the unique capability of producing a detailed surface map of Mars, coupled with its use in the form of large gold-coated mirrors in capturing the finest detailed imagery of Neptune and Uranus, the metal has pioneered the technological makings of today as well as the future.

Although on record, there may be over 150,000 tonnes that have been mined throughout the world in the modern era, it remains as the world’s most precious metal. It has been estimated that all the gold in the world that was refined would form a single cube 20 metres (66 foot) a side – length 20m x width 20m x height 20 metres. Historically used as an ancient currency and unit of exchange for many regions of the world as well as an indicator of wealth and class, for centuries gold has certainly been and is still a rare and valuable commodity in today’s world.

While gold resources become increasingly scarce combined with a decline in global gold production levels, the bright metal will no doubt continue to be a popular choice worldwide.

(Updated January 2012)